Advisory Committee on Standards for Voting Technologies

Committee Meeting

Agenda

June 29th, 2022, 9:00am – 4:00pm 75 Lower Simcoe St, Toronto, ON M5J 3A6

Committee Attendees:

- Jean-Pierre Kingsley, Committee Chair
- Dr. Mkabi Walcott, Standards Council of Canada Representative
- Dr. Nicole Goodman, Academic Advisor
- Michael Crase, Political Party Appointee Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
- Dan Duncan, Political Party Appointee Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
- Karla Webber-Gallagher, Political Party Appointee New Democratic Party of Ontario
- Donald Eady, Political Party Appointee New Democratic Party of Ontario
- Milton Chan, Political Party Appointee Ontario Liberal Party
- Christine McMillan, Political Party Appointee Ontario Liberal Party
- Craig Cantin, Political Party Appointee Green Party of Ontario
- Fiona Mackintosh, Executive Director of the Advisory Committee
- Amanda Tieber, Research Coordinator for the Advisory Committee
- Susan Hammad, Administrative Assistant, Elections Ontario

Invitees:

- Dr. Aleksander Essex, Associate Professor of Software Engineering, Western University
- Julia Hancock, Senior Project Manager, CIO Strategy Council
- Ardita Driza Maurer, Legal consultant, Lead expert for the Council of Europe CDDG (European Committee on Democracy and Governance) on the Committee of Ministers Guidelines on the use of information and communication technology
- Vanessa Clowe, Sector Lead, Democratic Institutions Advice & Guidance, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (CCCS)
- Gbolahan Olude, Senior Analyst, Democratic Institutions Advice & Guidance, CCCS
- Nicolas Pare, Senior Cyber Security Analyst, Democratic Institutions Advice & Guidance, CCCS
- Noah Nickle, Research Associate, Brock University

Time	Agenda Items	Presenter
9:00am-9:30am	Opening remarks and Chair Comments	Jean-Pierre Kingsley, Committee Chair
9:30am-10:15am	The Impact of Election Technology on Election Integrity	Dr. Nicole Goodman, Academic Advisor

Morning Break			
10:30am- 11:00am	Update: Democratic Voting Principles and Technical Design Principles	Fiona Mackintosh, Executive Director & Amanda Tieber, Research Coordinator	
11:00-11:30am	The Council of Europe: Developing Electronic Voting Standards and Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Guidelines	Ardita Driza Maurer, Council of Europe	
11:30-12:00pm	The Council of Europe: Q&A and Open Discussion	Ardita Driza Maurer, Council of Europe	
Lunch			
1:00pm-1:30pm	Canadian Centre for Cyber Security: Security Considerations for Electronic Poll Books	Gbolahan Olude, Vanessa Clowe & Nicolas Pare, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security	
1:30pm-2:00pm	Canadian Centre for Cyber Security: Open Discussion	Gbolahan Olude, Vanessa Clowe & Nicolas Pare, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security	
2:00pm-2:30pm	Standards Development Process Update & Introduction to CIO Seed Document	Julia Hancock, CIO Strategy Council	
2:30pm-3:00pm	Open Discussion on CIO Seed Document	Julia Hancock, CIO Strategy Council	
Afternoon Break			
3:15pm-3:40pm	Update: Committee Workplan & Research Agenda	Fiona Mackintosh, Executive Director & Amanda Tieber, Research Coordinator	
3:40pm-4:00pm	Closing Remarks	Jean-Pierre Kingsley, Committee Chair	
Adjourned			